Rakim’s First Album in 15 Years | Listen


New Music Alert: Rakim’s “Be Ill”

Legendary Long Island Rapper Returns with G.O.D.’s Network (Reb7rth) Featuring Hip-Hop Titans

Rakim has announced his first new full-length project in almost 15 years. The highly anticipated album, G.O.D.’s Network (Reb7rth), is set for release on July 26, marking a significant return since his 2009 offering, The Seventh Seal. The lead single, “Be Ill,” features Kurupt and Masta Killa (A Wu-Tang Clan Member), and its music video is available for viewing below.

A Star-Studded Revival

Rakim has not only taken the reins on production for G.O.D.’s Network (Reb7rth) but also curated an impressive lineup of guest artists. The project includes appearances from heavyweights such as Snoop Dogg, Method Man, Kool G Rap, 38 Spesh, Joell Ortiz, and B.G. It also honors the legacies of late artists like Nipsey Hussle, DMX, Fred the Godson, and Prodigy from Mobb Deep, featuring their contributions posthumously.

Lead Single: “Be Ill”

The album’s lead track, “Be Ill,” showcases the seamless synergy between Rakim, Kurupt, and Masta Killa. The song is accompanied by a gripping music video that fans can now watch.

G.O.D.’s Network (Reb7rth) Tracklist

  1. Rakim / Kurupt / Masta Killa: “Be Ill”
  2. Rakim / B.G. / Hus KingPin: “Now Is the Time” [ft. Compton Menace]
  3. Rakim / Nipsey Hussle / Planet Asia: “Love Is the Message” [ft. Louis King, Snoop Dogg, Sally Green, and Kobe Honeycutt & The L.A. Grand Choir]
  4. Rakim / 38 Spesh / DMX: “God’s Playground” [ft. Fred the Godson and Skyzoo]
  5. Rakim / Kxng Crooked / Canibus: “Pendulum Swing” [ft. La the Darkman and Chino XL]
  6. Rakim / Kool G Rap / Joell Ortiz: “International” [ft. Tristate]
  7. Rakim / Prodigy / X-Raided: “Sign of Se7en” [ft. Method Man and Big Twins]

The Return of a Legend

Rakim’s influence on hip-hop is immeasurable. His previous work with Eric B. produced classic albums such as Paid in Full and Follow the Leader, which are often cited as some of the most important records in the genre’s history. His intricate lyricism and innovative flow set new standards for MCs and continue to inspire new generations of rappers.

Artist Background

Born William Michael Griffin Jr., Rakim’s journey in music began in the mid-1980s when he teamed up with Eric B. Their partnership yielded a series of critically acclaimed albums, establishing Rakim as a pioneering force in hip-hop. After their split, Rakim embarked on a solo career, continuing to push boundaries with his complex rhymes and profound themes.

Song Suggestions

For those looking to dive deeper into Rakim’s discography, here are two essential tracks:

  • “Paid in Full” from the album Paid in Full – A foundational track that showcases Rakim’s lyrical prowess.
  • “Guess Who’s Back” from the album The Master – A testament to his enduring skill and influence in hip-hop.

Rakim’s return with G.O.D.’s Network (Reb7rth) is a momentous occasion for fans and the hip-hop community, promising a blend of timeless lyricism and contemporary collaboration. Be sure to check out the video for “Be Ill” and mark your calendars for the album release on July 26.

More hip-hop news 

To Top
Image Suggested dimensions: 490 × 200 Body Footer Sign up success message Pop-up Form Copy/paste onto your site After you embed the code to your site, any changes you make to your form can be published directly from the editor.