Watch Vince Staples’ New Video: “Shame on the Devil”

Vince Staples

Vince Staples Announces New Album Dark Times, Shares Video for New Song

“Shame on the Devil” Leads the Long Beach Rapper’s First New Full-Length Since Ramona Park Broke My Heart

Vince Staples has announced a new album titled Dark Times. Set to be his final album on Def Jam Recordings, the follow-up to 2022’s Ramona Park Broke My Heart will be released this Friday, May 24. Alongside the announcement, the Long Beach rapper has unveiled a new song, “Shame on the Devil,” accompanied by a striking split-screen music video. The right side features a close-up of Staples’ face as he raps, while the left side shows shadows of people cast on the corner of a room. Check out the video below.

Tracklist for Dark Times

  1. Close Your Eyes and Swing
  2. Black&Blue
  3. Government Cheese
  4. Children’s Song
  5. Shame on the Devil
  6. Étouffée
  7. Liars
  8. Justin
  9. “Radio”
  10. Nothing Matters
  11. Little Homies
  12. Freeman
  13. Why Won’t the Sun Come Out?

A Glimpse into Vince Staples’ Recent Collaborations

After the release of Ramona Park Broke My Heart, which served as a companion piece to his 2021 self-titled album, Staples collaborated with Earl Sweatshirt and the Alchemist on the 2023 track “The Caliphate” from Voir Dire. That same year, he worked with the Alchemist again on “Lonnie P.” Explore more new hip-hop. 

The Vince Staples Show: A Satirical Netflix Series

In February, Staples debuted his satirical Netflix comedy series, The Vince Staples Show. The five-episode series stars Staples as a semi-fictionalized version of himself navigating life. The show also stars Vanessa Bell Calloway and Andrea Ellsworth, with recurring appearances by Naté Jones, Arturo Castro, Scott MacArthur, Bryan Greenberg, and Myles Bullock.

Def Jam and Vince Staples: A Storied Partnership

Def Jam Recordings played a crucial role in launching Staples’ career, beginning with the release of his Hell Can Wait EP in October 2014. His critically acclaimed debut studio album, Summertime ’06, followed in 2015. Staples released three more projects under Def Jam—Prima Donna, Big Fish Theory, and FM!—before moving to Motown Records for his self-titled album and Ramona Park Broke My Heart. Since Big Fish Theory and continuing with Dark Times, Staples’ projects have been co-released via Blacksmith Records.

Artist Background: Vince Staples

Vince Staples, hailing from Long Beach, California, has carved a unique niche in the hip-hop landscape with his incisive lyrics and innovative production choices. His music often reflects on his upbringing and the socio-political landscape of his hometown.

Song Recommendations:

  1. “Norf Norf” from Summertime ’06
  2. “Yeah Right” from Big Fish Theory

Stay tuned for more updates on Vince Staples and his upcoming album Dark Times.

More hip-hop news

To Top
Image Suggested dimensions: 490 × 200 Body Footer Sign up success message Pop-up Form Copy/paste onto your site After you embed the code to your site, any changes you make to your form can be published directly from the editor.