Jay-Z and D’Angelo | “I Want You Forever”

Jay-Z | Shutterstock

The Eternal Trio: D’Angelo, Jay-Z, and Jeymes Samuel Unite on “I Want You Forever”

Yo, hip-hop heads, get ready for a silky sonic odyssey. D’Angelo, teaming up with the rap titan Jay-Z and the visionary Jeymes Samuel, just dropped the new track “I Want You Forever.” Marking D’Angelo’s first major drop since 2019, this isn’t just a track—it’s a 9-minute and 32-second exploration into the depths of soul. Featured prominently on the soundtrack of Samuel’s latest flick, The Book of Clarence, this biblical comedy-drama is already causing a stir in theaters. Listen to the new star-studded track below.

The Maestros Behind the Masterpiece

Jay-Z does more than just spit bars here; he’s also flexing his production muscles as the co-producer of The Book of Clarence. This reunion isn’t their first magical collab—they previously joined forces on 2021’s hit The Harder They Fall. Samuel, a master at fusing film and music, brings his A-game to this track. Starring the incredibly versatile Lakeith Stanfield as Clarence, the film is gearing up to be a must-see.

Soundtrack Royalty

And the musical journey doesn’t end with “I Want You Forever.” The soundtrack is stacked with other treasures, like “Hallelujah Heaven,” a fusion of styles with Lil Wayne, Buju Banton, and Shabba Ranks. Adding some more fire, Doja Cat and Kodak Black jump in on the track “Jeezu.” This whole soundtrack, now out via Roc Nation, is a showcase of Samuel’s diverse musical chops, as he gets credit on every song. Plus, Milan Records has got Samuel’s original score for The Book of Clarence out for your ears.

In essence, “I Want You Forever” is an immersive tapestry weaving together hip-hop, soul, and cinematic flair. This collab between D’Angelo, Jay-Z, and Jeymes Samuel isn’t just a track—it’s a milestone in their artistic journey, pushing the envelope in both the music and film worlds. Related: Discover which D’angelo song made our list of the best RnB love songs or the 22 best R&B songs from the 90s.

Peep the full tracklist below:

The Book Of Clarence (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) tracklist:

  1. Jorge Ben Jor – “All About You”
  2. Lil Wayne, Buju Banton, and Shabba Ranks – “Hallelujah Heaven“
  3. Kodak Black, Doja Cat, and Adekunle Gold – “Jeezu”
  4. Jorja Smith – “Champagne”
  5. Yemi Alade – “Sacred Love”
  6. D’Angelo and JAY-Z – “I Want You Forever”
  7. Kid Cudi – “Godqueen”
  8. “Dear Heaven”
  9. Alice Smith – “Magdalene”
  10. Terry Callier – “Varinia”
  11. “Nazarene”

More hip-hop from 92.5 The Beat

To Top
Image Suggested dimensions: 490 × 200 Body Footer Sign up success message Pop-up Form Copy/paste onto your site After you embed the code to your site, any changes you make to your form can be published directly from the editor.